MBA Admissions 2013

In the recent years, MBA professionals are getting the most lucrative job opportunities both in India and abroad. So, demand for an MBA degree is increasing amongst the Indian students. If you want to acquire an MBA degree from a reputed and recognized institution and add a feather to your career cap, then you need to know the detailed information on MBA admissions.

Important Entrance Exams Dates:

Exams Institutes Accepting the Score Dates
CAT 2011
  • IIM – Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Calcutta, Lucknow, Indore, Kozhikode, Shillong, Ranchi, Rohtak, Raipur, Trichy, Updaipur & Kashipur.
  • IITs & IISc;
  • FMS
  • University of Delhi
  • DMS – IIT Delhi
  • NITs
  • DSE
  • University of Delhi;
  • MDI Gurgaon
  • IMT Ghaziabad and more.
Voucher Sale – Wed, Aug 17, 2011 to Sat, Oct 1, 2011 Registration – Wed, Aug 17, 2011 to Tue, Oct 4, 2011 Exam Date – Sat, Oct 22, 2011 and Fri, Nov 18, 2011
XAT 2012 XLRI Jamshedpur, XIMB, GIM, LIBA, SPJIMR, Welingkar, XIME Bangalore Registration: Tue, Sept 20 to Wed, Nov 30, 2011 Exam Date – Sun, Jan 8, 2012
IIFT 2011 IIFT New Delhi and IIFT Kolkata Last date of Prospectus Sale – Mon, Aug 22, 2011 Last date of application – Mon, Sept 5, 2011 Exam Date – Sun, Nov 27, 2011
SNAP 2011 SIBM, SIMS and all the Symbiosis institutes of management Last Date to Register Wednesday, November 23, 2011 Exam Date – Sun, Dec 18, 2011
NMAT 2012 NMIMS, Mumbai Registration – Mon, Aug 1, 2011 to Mon, Oct 10, 2011. Late Registration – Tue, Oct 11, 2011 to Thurs, Oct 20, 2011 Exam Date – Mon, Oct 31 and Fri, Jan 6, 2012
IRMA 2011 Institute for Rural Management Anand, Gujarat Last Date to Register: Wed, Oct 5, 2011 Exam Dates – Sun, Nov 13, 2011
ATMA 2012 Welingkar, Mumbai, Bangalore;
Asia Pacific Institute of Management New Delhi, IMS, Ghaziabad, Kolkata;
Amity Global Business School, Noida;
NIMS, Pune
to be announced
IBSAT 2011 ICFAI Business School: Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Bhubaneshwar, Chandigarh, Gurgaon, Indore, Jaipur, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Nagpur, Noida, Pune Last date to Register – Thurs, Dec 8, 2011
MICAT 2012 Mudra Institute Of Communication Ahmedabad (MICA) To be announced


To get admission in an MBA college, a student needs to complete graduation and qualify in the entrance examination (CAT, XAT or MAT). Some institutions offer admission on the basis of graduation marks, CAT/MAT/XAT ranking, group discussion and personal interview. Duration of an MBA course is from 2 to 3 years (as per the type of degree). For a full-time MBA degree the duration is 3 years, however for an executive MBA, the duration is 2 years. The specializations in MBA include – Human Resource, Operations, International Business, Finance, Marketing, and Information Technology. The course fees vary from one institution to the other.

Some of the most popular and reputed MBA colleges in India are as follows:

  • Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore
  • Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta
  • Indian Institute of Management, Ahemdabad
  • Indian Institute of Management, Indore
  • Indian Institute of Management, Lucknow
  • Indian Institute of Management, Kozhikode
  • Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, Delhi
  • Indian School of Business, Hyderabad
  • Indian Institute of Management, Shillong
  • XLRI, School of Business & Human Resources, Jamshedpur