Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (IIT Delhi)

The Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (IIT Delhi) which was previously known as the College of Engineering and Technology, is governed under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961. It was declared as an Institution of National Importance in 1963 and offers nearly 700 courses per semester. It is one of the premier institutes for engineering and research in India and ranks among the top educational institutions on the global platform.

Name of the Institution Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
Type of Institution Engineering and research
Location Hauz Khas, New Delhi-110 016E-mail:

Fax: (91) 011-2658 2037

Tel: (91) 011-2659 1999

Ownership Government
Courses Offered B.Tech, M.Tech, MBA, MS, M.Sc, M.Des, PhD and Quality Improvement Program.
  • Chemistry
  • Textile Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Humanities
  • Physics
  • Biochemical Engineering
  • Management
  • Information Technology
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Applied Mechanics
  • Mathematics
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Biological Sciences
Admission Procedure For the undergraduate courses, the students are selected on the basis of their performance in the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE). The registration can be done through the offline or the online process.
Eligibility Criteria To be able to appear for the Joint Entrance Examination, the candidates will have to pass their higher secondary examinations in the 10+2 format from a recognized board of education with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as the compulsory subjects.For the postgraduate courses, the candidates need a CGPA of 6.75 (60% average) in their undergraduate examinations.
Campus Placements Some of the past recruiters who have offered placements to the IIT (D) students are:

  • Google India
  • Unitech
  • Cisco
  • J.K. Tyre
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • J. P. Morgan Services
  • TVS Motors
  • Ranbaxy
  • Ernst and Young
  • Tata Motors
  • Infosys Technologies
  • Wipro Technologies
  • Global Analytics
  • Ashok Leyland
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Evalueserve
  • HSBC Global Technology
  • BPCL
  • Hindustan Aeronautics
  • NTPC
  • Mentor Graphics
  • Boston Analytics
  • Havells
Scholarships and Awards The following awards are presented to the deserving students of the institute:

  • President’s Gold Medal
  • President’s Silver Medal
  • Arthur L. Williston Medal
  • Jung-huenJung Tae-gon Young Scholar Award
  • Travel award


The institute also recognizes the efforts of the members of the faculty through the following awards:

  • Scopus Young Scientist Awards
  • MRSI Distinguished Materials Scientist of the Year Award
  • Prof. Y. T. Thathachari Prestigious Research Award
  • DST Young Scientist Award


Fee Structure M.Tech / M.Des / MS:Tuition Fee: INR 5,000

Hostel Rent: INR 850

Registration Charges: INR 5,935


For B.Tech :

INR 22,035 per semester (excluding hostel rent)

Established in the Year The Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi was established in the year 1961.
Facts & Figures
  • The foundation stone of the IIT (Delhi) was laid in the year 1959.
  • The Indian Institute of Technology (Delhi) was declared as the Institution of National Importance in the year 1963.
  • The institute was set up in collaboration with the UK government.
  • The institute offers 700 courses every semester.
  • Total number of hostels: 12
Events and Activities The following events are held in the institute on a regular basis:

  • Workshops
  • Seminars
  • Convocation
  • Young Researchers’ Symposium
  • NCC winter camps
  • Blood donation camps
  • Excursions
  • Music concert


The institute also has the following clubs:

  • Robotics Club
  • Quizzing Club
  • Music Club
  • Film Series Committee
  • Dance and Dramatics Club
  • Indoor Sports Club
  • Photography and Hobbies Society
  • English Debating and Literary Club
  • Hindi Samiti

Engineering Colleges by State –

Andhra Pradesh Bihar Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu & Kashmir Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Orissa Jharkhand
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Uttar Pradesh West Bengal