IIT Kharagpur

IIT or the Indian Institute of Technology in Kharagpur is the oldest institute for technical education in independent India, formally inaugurated in the year 1951 by Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad, the then Minister of Education and famous freedom fighter.

Type of Institution Autonomous
Location Kharagpur
Ownership Government
Courses offered Integrated M.Sc, Dual degree programs, and B.Tech
Admission Procedure Entrance tests
Departments and Centers
  • Vinod Gupta School of Management
  • School of Water Resources
  • Rural Development Centre
  • Rubber Technology Centre
  • Reliability Engineering Centre
  • Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Management
  • Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law
  • Rajendra Mishra School of Engineering and Entrepreneurship
  • Physics and Meteorology
  • Oceans, Rivers, Atmosphere and Land Sciences
  • Ocean Engineering and Naval Architecture
  • Mining Engineering
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Medical Science and Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Materials Science
  • Information Technology
  • Industrial Engineering and Management
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Geology and Geophysics
  • G.S Sanyal School of Telecommunication
  • Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Centre for Educational Technology
  • Cryogenic Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Biotechnology
  • Architecture and Regional Engineering
  • Agricultural and Food Engineering
  • Aerospace Engineering
Year of Establishment 1951 (formal inauguration)
Campus Placements Student placements for the batch graduating in June 2012, the placement procedure will begin from December 1st 2011. The placement procedure will continue until April 15th 2012.
Website www.iitkgp.ac.in
Events Conferences and seminars on the following - 

  • Eighteenth National Conference on Communication on 3rd to 5th February 2012
  • 1st International Workshop on “Nanoparticles and their applications in Medicine”, on January 3rd to 4th 2012
  • “Frontiers of Infrastructure Finance”, on December 29th to 30th 2011(International conference)
  • “Advances in Supply Chain and Manufacturing Management”, on December 16th to 18th 2011 (International conference)
  • “Theoretical and Applied Physics”, on December 1st and 2nd, 2011 (International conference)
  • “Advances in Materials and Materials Processing”, on December 9th to 11th 2011 (International conference)
  • “Safety in Mines Research Institutes”, on December 7th to 10th 2011 (34th International conference)
  • “Technological Innovation in Shipbuilding”, on December 8th to 9th 2011
  • “Recent Trends in Chemistry”, on October 21st to 23rd 2011 (Diamond Jubilee Symposium)


Eligibility Criteria Joint Management Entrance Test for enrollment into Management courses. JEE for admission into Bachelor’s degree program, GATE for admission into post graduate courses, JAM for enrollment into M.Sc.

A number of research as well as technical development areas are being worked upon by the students of IIT-Kharagpur.

Ranging from “bioprocess for sandalwood somatic seeding production” to an “Infrared shaft misalignment detector”, there are a number of development projects that students have successfully completed.

Few of the research facilities offered to students of the institute include Advanced VLSI Laboratory, Analytical Food Testing Laboratory, Kalpana Chawla Space Technology Cell, and Ocean and Atmospheric Science and Technology Cell.

They also get the opportunity to be taught by the President of India who is the visiting faculty in this autonomous institute. IIT in Kharagpur has topped the ratings of the best engineering institutes in India numerous times in various surveys done every year. It also has its presence in cities of Bhubaneshwar and Kolkata.

The mailing address of IIT Kharagpur is :
Kharagpur – 721302, contact number – +91 3222255221.

Engineering Colleges by State –

Andhra Pradesh Bihar Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu & Kashmir Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Orissa Jharkhand
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Uttar Pradesh West Bengal