Institute of Hotel Management – IHM, Chennai

The Institute of Hotel Management (IHM), Chennai is an esteemed member of the Federation of Hotels & Restaurants Association of India, State Institute of Hotel Management & Catering Technology, and Tamil Nadu Tourism Development Corporation.

Name of the Institution Institute of Hotel Management (IHM)
Type of Institution Hotel Management
Location Chennai
Ownership Jointly sponsored by the Tamil Nadu state government and the central government.
Accreditation/affiliation The institute is affiliated to IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) and the National Council for Hotel Management and Catering Technology.
Courses Offered B.Sc, Craftsmanship courses, Diplomas, Certificates and Postgraduate Diplomas are the courses offered by this institute.
  • Hospitality and Hotel Administration
  • Dietetics & Hospital Food Services
  • Food and Beverage Service
  • Hotel and Catering Management
  • Food Production
  • Accommodation Operation and Management
  • Bakery & Confectionery


Admission Procedure The admission of the candidates will be based on their performance in the Joint Entrance Examination at the national level. The candidates will then have to appear for a counseling session on the merit basis. The Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) and National Council for Hotel Management & Catering Technology together conduct the entrance exam and the counseling session. Aspirants will have to apply for the Joint Entrance Examination through the online method and the exam is usually held in the end of April every year. Admissions for PG Diploma, Diploma and Craftsmanship courses will be based on the candidates’ results in the qualifying examinations and a personal interview round. The application forms will be made available in the official website of the institute.
Campus Placements Given below is a list of the recruiters who employ students of IHM Chennai:

  • Taj Group of Hotels
  • Indus Cruise
  • Club Mahindra Holidays
  • McDonald’s India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Thomas Cook
  • Jet Airways
  • Green Park Group of Hotels
  • Casino Group of Hotels
  • ISTA Hotel Resort
  • Lemon Tree Hotel
  • The Oberoi Group of Hotels
  • Pizza Hut
  • Sayajee Hotels
  • Park Sheraton
Scholarships and Awards
  • Talera Group of Hotels Trophy
  • Late Shri J. Ramesh Babu Memorial Award
  • Padmasree P. Ananda Rau Memorial Award
  • Aringnar Anna Award
  • Everest Culinary Awards
  • New Woodlands Hotel Award
  • Adi-Dravidar and Tribal Welfare Scholarships
Fee Structure For B.Sc students: 1st Semester (first year): INR 44,960

2nd Semester (first year): INR 30,600

3rd Semester (second year): INR 36,990

4th Semester (second year): INR 32,100

5th Semester (third year): INR 45,440

6th Semester(third year): INR 35,200

For Diploma in Food Production:

1st Term: INR 19,735

2nd Term: INR 13,965

For Craftsmanship in Food Production:

1st Semester: INR 17,440

2nd Semester: INR 10,555

Eligibility Criteria To appear in the JEE, the candidates will have to pass their higher secondary examinations in Arts, Science or Commerce from a recognized board. The candidates should not be above 22 years of age.For Craftsmanship and Certificate courses, the candidates need to pass their secondary level examinations and for diplomas, the aspirants require a 10+2 degree. PG Diploma candidates need a graduation degree to apply to the course.
Established in the Year The Institute of Hotel Management in Chennai was established in the year 1963.
Events Internal Chef Competition Practicals, lectures, World Tourism Day celebration, quiz competitions, Rangoli competition, Floral Decoration competition, outdoor catering, alumni meet, sports, food festival, seminars, conferences, National Nutrition Week, and presentations are some of the events that take place in the institute.


Hotel Management Colleges in India


Ahmedabad Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Bangalore Bihar
Chandigarh Chennai Delhi Goa Gujarat
Haryana Himachal Pradesh Indore Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Kolkata Lucknow Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Mumbai Orissa Pune Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Uttaranchal Uttar Pradesh West Bengal

Related Links