Central Universities in India

In India, Union Universities or Central Universities are set up as per the Act of Parliament and are administered by the Department of Higher Education, which is under the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. As a general rule, all the universities in India are identified by UGC (University Grants Commission), which is a statutory organization established by the Union Government in the year 1956. Apart from UGC, there are 15 Professional Councils to control and manage various aspects of accreditation and coordination. Moreover, Central Universities are covered by the Central Universities Act, 2009, which governs the function and activities of them.

State Wise Central Universities

There are a total of 41 central universities (Central University of Jammu is not operational yet) all over India, with one or more in each state, except Goa. Delhi and Uttar Pradesh have the highest number of central universities (4 in each region) in the country. Take a look at the table containing the number of central universities in each state:

List of central universities (statewise):

State Central Universities State Central Universities
Andhra Pradesh 3 Manipur 2
Arunachal Pradesh 1 Meghalaya 1
Assam 2 Mizoram 1
Bihar 1 Nagaland 1
Chhattisgarh 1 Orissa 1
Delhi 4 Pondicherry 1
Gujarat 1 Punjab 1
Haryana 1 Rajasthan 1
Himachal Pradesh 1 Tamil Nadu 2
Jharkhand 1 (yet to start operation) Tripura 1
Jammu and Kashmir 1 Sikkim 1
Karnataka 1 Uttar Pradesh 4
Kerala 1 Uttarakhand 4
Madhya Pradesh 2 West Bengal 4
Maharashtra 1    

Here is the list of top 10 central universities providing world-class education to the students of India:

Some more good central universities are: