Jamia Millia Islamia University

Jamia Millia Islamia is a premier university located in New Delhi, India. Jamia Millia University was established at Aligarh in 1920 in United Provinces, India. Later on according to an act of Indian Parliament, the university became a central university in 1988. The motto of this celebrated central university is “Allammal Insaana Maalam Yalam”, which means to teach the unknown. The meaning of Jamia is university and Millia means national. Hence, the meaning of Jamia Millia is National University.

Attending Jamia Millia has set an exemplary system for education in India. Jamia Millia is successful in offering quality education to students. In 1936 the University Grants Commission better known as UGC declared Jamia Millia Islamia University as a “Deemed to be University”. According to NAAC, Jamia is one of the best Universities.

Jamia Millia University is one of the most sought after educational institutions in the country. This University offers great campus life to the students. The alumni comprises of top personalities across India. There are diverse departments in Jamia University. This university is one of the bests in India that provides Mass Communication courses. Jamia Millia Islamia is bestowed with world class faculties.

They are mentioned in the following chart:


Faculty of Dentistry
Faculty of Architecture and Ekistics
Faculty of Engineering and Technology
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Humanities and Languages
Faculty of Fine Arts
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Social Sciences

Departments of Jamia Millia Islamia Universities are:

Department of Adult and Continuing Education and Extension
Department of Applied Art
Department of Applied Sciences & Humanities
Department of Arabic Department of Architecture
Department of Art Education
Department of Biosciences
Department of Art History & Art Appreciation
Department of Chemistry
Department of Biotechnology
Department of Civil Engineering
Department of Commerce and Business Studies
Department of Computer Engineering
Department of Computer Science
Department of Economics
Department of Educational Studies
Department of Electrical Engineering
Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering
Department of English
Department of Geography
Department of Hindi
Department of Graphic Art
Department of Islamic Studies
Department of History and Culture
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mathematics
Department of Painting
Department of Persian
Department of Political Science
Department of Physics
Department of Sociology
Department of Sculpture
Department of Social Work
Department of Psychology
Department of Teacher Training & Non-formal Education
Department of Tourism Hospitality of Heritage Studies
Department of Urdu
University Polytechnic
Name of the Institution Jamia Milia University
Centers of University
  • Sarojini Naidu Centre for Women’s Studies
  • Jamia’s Premchand Archives and Literary Centre
  • FTK Centre for Information Technology
  • Child Guidance Centre
  • Centre fpr Study of Comparative Religions and Civilizations
  • Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies
  • Centre for European and Latin American Studies
  • Centre for Coaching and Career Planning
  • Academy of Professional Development of Urdu Medium Teachers
  • Academic Staff College
  • Barkat Ali Foraq State Resource Centre
  • Centre for Early Childhood Development and Research
  • Centre for West Asian Studies
  • Centre for Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Basic Sciences
  • Nelson Mandela Centre for Peace and Conflict Resolution
  • Jamia Community Centre
  • University Counseling and Guidance Centre
  • MMAJ Academy of International Studies
  • India-Arab Cultural Centre
  • Dr K.R Narayan Centre for Dalit and Minorities Studies
  • Centre for Theoretical Physics
  • Centre for Management Studies
  • Centre for Gandhian Studies
  • Centre for Culture Media and Governance
  • Arjun Singh Centre for Distance and Open Learning
  • A.J.K Mass Communication Research Centre
Type of University Indian Central University
Departments Arabic, Tourism Hospitality of Heritage Studies, Social Work, Political Science, Painting, Islamic Studies, Graphic Art, Geography, History and Culture, Mechanical Engineering, Sculpture, Physics, Polytechnic, Teacher Training and Non Formal Education, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Economics, Commerce and Business Studies, Computer Science, Biosciences, Biotechnology, Art Education, Applied Sciences and Humanities, Architecture, Hindi, English, Computer Engineering, Educational Studies, Chemistry, Persian, and Urdu
Address Jamia Milia Islamia, Jamia Nagar, New Delhi – 110025, India
Contact details Telephone +91 11 2698 0229