National Institute of Technology, Rourkela

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela was previously known as the Regional Engineering College. This year, NIT was ranked 17th in the Best Engineering Colleges survey that was conducted by the India Today magazine.

Name of the Institution National Institute of Technology
Type of Institution Technology
Location Rourkela – 769008

Orissa, India.

Tel: 0661 – 2462009, 2476773

Mobile : 94371-53285

Fax : 0661 – 2462999, 2472926

Ownership Government
Accreditation/affiliation The National Institute of Technology is accredited by the NAAC (National Assessment and Accreditation Council).
Courses Offered B.E., B.Tech, M.Tech, M.Sc., M.A. and MBA are the courses offered by the National Institute of Technology.
  • Life Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Business Management
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
Admission Procedure The admissions to the undergraduate courses will be based on the performance of the students in the AIEEE examinations. The application forms for admissions can be filled in and submitted online and the printout of the same has to be sent to the National Institute of Technology, Rourkela campus with a demand draft of INR 500. The names of the selected students will be declared through the official website of the institute.
Campus Placements The institute has an active placement cell and the following companies recruit the students of NIT on a regular basis:

  • American Express
  • ITC Ltd.
  • Jindal Steel
  • IBM
  • Accenture
  • Ashok Leyland
  • Tata Motors
  • Wipro Technologies
  • Vedanta
  • Samsung Electronics
  • NTPC
  • Sapient
  • Essar Group
  • Google
  • Infosys
  • Flextronics
  • Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited
  • GE Research
  • HCL Technologies
  • Larsen and Toubro
  • Process Map
  • TCS
  • Schulmberger
  • Microsoft
  • Mahindra and Mahindra

Scholarships/Awards given by the institute
  • Byomokesh Mishra Memorial Award
  • Sanjay Mathur Award
  • Istam Gold Medal
  • S.G.A.T Award
  • Governor Award
  • Met. Engg. Association Gold Medal
  • Pranab Memorial Gold Medal
  • Harish Chandra Acharaya Memorial Gold Medal
  • Professor Raja Raman Award

Fee Structure Admission fee for postgraduate courses: INR 1000

Tuition Fee for M.Tech: INR 17,500

Tuition Fee for M.Sc and M.A. : INR 6000

Tuition Fee for MBA: INR 50,000

Caution Deposit: INR 5,000

Hostel Admission: INR 500

Institute Development Contribution: INR 5,000

Other Fees: INR 2,000

Medical and Insurance: INR 500

Hostel Seat Rent: INR 1,500 – 2,500

The payments have to be made through demand drafts.

Eligibility Criteria For admissions to the undergraduate courses, the candidates have to pass their 10+2 examinations with Physics, Mathematics and either of the following subjects: Biotechnology, Biology, Chemistry, and Computer Science. For admission to the M.Sc course, the students should have either a B.Tech, B.E. or M.Sc degree in the relevant field with 60% or above marks from a recognized university.
Established in the Year The institute was established in the year 1961 as a joint undertaking of the central and Odisha state government.
Facts & Figures
  • The National Institute of Technology has a total of 30 campuses.
  • In the year 2007, NIT was recognized as the Institute of National Importance.

Events The institute has a number of societies: Sports and Games Society, Technical Society, National Cadet Corps, Film and Music Society, National Social Service, Literary and Cultural Society. Conferences, lectures and workshops are also held regularly at the institute.