Vardhman Mahaveer Open University, Kota

Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University (VMOU), Kota (formerly known as Kota Open University) is a pioneer in open learning in the state of Rajasthan. In 1987, the university was set up to provide flexible as well as cost-effective learning solutions to individuals who want to pursue higher education but somehow are unable to do it.


VMOU is affiliated with the following authorities:

  • The University Grants Commission (UGC), India
  • The Distance Education Council (DEC), India

Facilities provided

The university has 6 regional centers and around 86 study centers in different locations of the state. Besides, it has a special Centre in New Delhi. There are more than 10,000 students getting academic and other facilities which include:

  • Simple and flexible admission procedure
  • Use of advanced communication technologies
  • Strong student support services
  • Excellent evaluation system with timely results
  • Regular counseling, radio counseling, and tutoring sessions
  • Fee payment in installments
  • Self-instructional study materials and audio-video materials
  • Extensive scopes of research
  • Has a central library with a total of 87700 books

Courses offered

Bachelor Degree Programs
  • Bachelor of Arts Preparatory Program – BAP
  • Bachelor of Business Administration – BBA
  • Bachelor of Commerce Preparatory Program – BCP
  • Bachelor of Computer Applications – BCA
  • Bachelor of Commerce Program (Pass Course) – B.Com
  • Bachelor of Arts Program (pass Course) – B.A.
  • Bachelor of Journalism (Mass Communication) Program – BJ (MC)
  • Bachelor of Library and Information Science Program – BLIS
  • Bachelor of Science Bridge Course – BScP
  • Bachelor of Science Program (Pass Course) – B.Sc.
  • Bachelor of Education – B.Ed.
Master Degree Programs
  • Master of Arts – M.A. (Economics, Education, Gandhi and Peace Studies, Hindi, Political Science, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, English, History, Public Administration, Sociology)
  • Master of Science – M.Sc. (Mathematics, Geography)
  • Master of Commerce – M.Com
  • Master of Computer Science – M.Cs.
  • Master of journalism (Mass Communication) – MJ (MC)
  • Master of Business Administration – MBA
  • Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS)
Certificate Programs
  • Certificate in AIDS and Family Education (CAFE), Apabhransha Language (CAL), Application Software and Web Designing (CAWD), Awareness of Gandhian Method (CPGM), Computer Accounting (CCA), Computer Networking and Internet (CCNI), Computing (CIC), Culture and Tourism (CCT), Disaster Management (CDM), Distance Education (CDE), Food and Nutrition (CFN), Functional English (CFL), Functional Rajasthani – (CFR), Legal Awareness for Women (CLAW), Mahatma Gandhi NREGA Mate (CPNM), Obstetrics Assistant (COA), Osteopathy (COS), Panchayati Raj Project (CPRP), Prakrit Language (CPL), Programming in C++ and Java (CPCJ), Rajasthani Language and Culture (CRLC), Salesmanship and Marketing (CSM), Tourist Guidance (CTG), VB and Dot net (CPVB)
  • Computer Awareness and Training Program for Beginners – CTB
Diploma Programs
  • Diploma in Accounting Management (DAM), Computer Accounting (DCA), Computer in Office Management (DCOM), Culture and Tourism (DCT), Library and Information Science (DLIS), Nutrition and Health Education (DNHE), Poultry Management (DPM), Social Problems of Rajasthan (DSPR), Tourism Management (DTM), Watershed Management (DWSM)
Post Graduate Diploma Programs
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Accounting and Audit (PGDCAA), Computer Application (PGDCA), Environment and Sustainable Development (PGDESD), Gandhian Non-Violent Conflict Resolution (PGDGN), Labour Laws, Industrial Relations and Personnel Management (PGDLL), Tourism and Hotel Management (PGDTH), Water Resource Management (PGDWR), Financial Management (PGDFM), Human Resources Management (PGDHM), Marketing Management (PGDMM)
Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.)
  • Master of Philosophy – M.Phil. in Economics (MPEC), English (MPEG), Geography (MPGE), Hindi (MPHD), History (MPHI), Library and Information Science (MPLS), Political Science (MPPS), Sanskrit (MPSA)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • Doctor of Philosophy – Ph.D. in Commerce, Economics, Education, History, Library Science, Management, Political Science