Visva-Bharati University, Santiniketan, West Bengal

Located in the serene and picturesque setting of rural Bengal in the district of Birbhum, Santiniketan was Rabindranath Tagore’s dream project of an open-air University to be conceived in the wombs of nature. Visva-Bharati University came into being on 23rd December, 1921 and is one of the most reputed of all the Central Universities in India. Visva – Bharati became a Central University in 1951.

With the official motto of ‘Yatra Visvam Bhavatyekanidam’ or ‘where the world makes a home in a single nest’ Visva-Bharati is an exhaustive university of repute in the sense that it offers all courses and degrees under the aegis of its various institutes for under-graduate, post-graduate and doctoral studies. The Visva-Bharati University has 8 Institutes, 2 Kindergarten Schools, 1 Pre-degree School, 2 Schools and 15 centres of learning in its fold.

Institutes under Visva -Bharati University

  • The Institute of Humanities also known as Vidya Bhavana
  • The Institute of Sciences also known as Shiksha Bhavana
  • The Institute of Agricultural Sciences or the Palli Shiksha Bhavana
  • The Institute Education or the Binay Bhavana
  • Institute of Fine Arts known as Kala Bhavana

The Institute of Tagore Studies and Research or Rabindra Bhavan as it is popularly known is the main attraction of this Central University. It houses a library, a museum, a multimedia unit and a reprographic unit among others.

Schools under Visva Bharati
  • Patha Bhavana (Elementary School)
  • Shiksha Satra (Secondary School)
  • Uttar Shiksha Sadana (Higher Secondary School)

The following are the three most important administrative posts in Visva-Bharati :

  • Chancellor (Acharya)

    Dr Manmohan Singh

    The Prime Minister of India

  • Pradhana (Rector)

    Shri Gopalkrishna Gandhi

    The Governor of West Bengal

  • Vice-Chancellor (Upacharya)

    Prof. Rajat Kanta Ray
    Both the chancellor and the vice-chancellor of Visva-Bharati University are appointed by the President of India.

    While the President of India holds the honorary post of Paridarsaka or Visitor in Visva-Bharati University, the Governor of West Bengal is the Pradhana or Rector.

    Faculties :

    The Faculty of Studies in Visva-Bharati composed of

    • 126 Professors
    • 92 Readers
    • 28 Senior Lecturers
    • 115 Lecturers
    • 140 Assistant Lecturers
    • 2 Instructors
    • 12 Accompanists

    take care of the education, grooming and career prospects of 6500 students housed in 52 hostels. The students can avail of the facilities of a Central Library which boasts of a collection of over 3 lakh books and Sectional Libraries which also have a collection of more than similar number of books on all subjects.

    Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates :

    The following are the degrees, diplomas and certificates awarded by Visva-Bharati University :

    • School Leaving Certificate
    • Diplomas and Certificates in various disciplines
    • Bachelor Degrees
    • Master Degrees
    • PH.D
    • D. Litt/D.Sc
    • Gagan – Aban Puraskar
    • Rathindra Puraskar
    • Honoris Causa (Desikottama)


    Courses :

    • Vidya-Bhavana
      (Institute of Humanities & Social Sciences)
      Two Year M.A. in Bengali, English, Sanskrit, Hindi, Functional Hindi (Translation), Oriya, Chinese, Philosophy, Comparative Religion, Economics, History, Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology, Journalism & Mass Communication, Geography, Mathematics.
      Three Year B.A. (Honours) in Bengali, English, Sanskrit, Hinding, Oriya, Chinese, Philosophy, Comparative Religion, Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology, Geography and Mathematics
      Four year B.A. (Honours) in Persian, Tibetan, Chinese and Japanese. The first year shall be preparatory for those who passed Higher Secondary or equivalent without the subject concerned with criteria set for the purpose, otherwise it will be of three years.
      .Three year B.A. Course in Functional Hindi (Vocational)
    • Siksha-Bhavana (Institute of Science)
      Two Year M.Sc. in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Zoology, Botany, Biotechnology, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Statistics
      Three year B.Sc. (Honours) in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Zoology (Life Science), Botany (Life Science), Computer Science, Statistics
    • Sangeet-Bhavana (Institute of Music, Dance and Drama)
      Two year M.Mus. in Rabindra Sangit, Hindusthani Classical Music (Vocal), Sitar, Esraj, Tabla, Pakhawaj, Kathakali and Manipuri Dance.

      Three year B.Mus. (Honours) in Rabindra Sangit, Hindusthani Classical Music (Vocal), Sitar, Esraj, Tabla, Pakhawaj, Kathakali and Manipuri Dance, Drama and Theatre arts.

    • Kala-Bhavana (Institute of Fine Arts)
      Two year M.Fine Arts/Advanced Diploma in Painting/Mural, Sculpture, Graphic Art (Print Making), Design (Textile/Ceramics), History of Art

      Five year B.Fine Arts (Honours) / Diploma in Fine Arts in Painting, Sculpture, Graphic Art (Print Making), Design (Textile/Ceramics), History of Art

    Two year Certificate Course in Design

    One Year Bridge Course in History of Art (leading to the existing two years M.F.A. course in history of art) for students from other than Fine Arts discipline.


  • Palli Siksha Bhavana (Institute of Agriculture) Two year M.Sc. (Ag) in Agronomy, Plant Protection, Agricultural Extension, Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry, Horticulture
    Four year B.Sc. (Ag.) Honours
  • Palli Samgathana Vibhaga (Institute of Rural Reconstruction) Two year M.A. / M.Sc. in Anthropology

    Two year M.A. in Rural Development

    Two year Master of Social Work

    Three year Bachelor of Social Work (Honours)

    Three year Diploma in Textile Technology (Handloom), Furniture Technology and Interior Design, Potter and Ceramic Technology

    Two year Certificate Course in Handmade Paper Making, Artistic Leather Craft, Batik Work, Book Binding and Handmade Packaging

  • Vinaya Bhavana (Institute of Education)

    Two year Master of Physical Education

    Three year Bachelor of Physical Education (Honours)

  • Uttara Siksha Sadhana (Institute of Higher Secondary Education)
    Two year Pre-Degree (10+2) in Humanities and Science Streams

    Address :
    Visva-Bharati University,
    Santiniketan, Birbhum, West Bengal, India,


    Contact Tel Nos: 91- 3463-261531

    Fax : 91- 3463- 261156

    Email : visva -bharati@

    On this page, we have tried to list all the major information on Visva-Bharati University Santiniketan. We have tried our best to provide accurate and updated details about the Visva-Bharati University. However, if you encounter any discrepancy,do write to us. We welcome any kind of feedback that would improve the quality of the site,a site that strives to provide the best information on Visva-Bharati University.