Miranda House, Delhi

Miranda House, Delhi is one of the most prestigious colleges in India and has more than 2,500 students studying in the science and the humanities streams. The college was established by Vice-Chancellor Sir Maurice Gwyer and began its journey with only 122 students.

Name of the Institution Miranda House, Delhi
Type of Institution Public
Location Miranda House,University of Delhi,

Delhi – 110007

Email: mhouse@ndf.vsnl.net.in

Fax: +91 – 11 – 27667437

Tel: +91 – 11 – 27666983

Ownership Government
Accreditation/affiliation The college is affiliated to the University of Delhi.
Courses Offered B.Sc (Hons), BA (Hons), B.El.Ed, B.Sc Program, BA Program
  • Zoology
  • Mathematics
  • Botany
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Geography
  • English
  • Sociology
  • Computer Science
  • Chemistry
  • History
  • Hindi
  • Physics
  • Modern Indian Languages
  • Sanskrit
  • Physical Education
  • Elementary Education
  • Philosophy
Admission Procedure Candidates who are desirous of pursuing an undergraduate honors program in English will have to appear for the CATE (Common Aptitude Test in English) which is conducted by the University of Delhi. For the other undergraduate courses, the scores of the candidates in their qualifying examinations (10+2) are considered. The ones who want to pursue B.Sc (Hons) will be selected on the basis of the percentage of marks obtained in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. 

The candidates will have to apply through the university’s Centralized Pre-admission Form only.

Campus Placements The college has an active placement cell that enables the students to get lucrative job opportunities.
Alumni The college has a glittering alumni and some of the names of the ex-students have been listed below:

  • Anita Desai (author)
  • Jaya Jaitley (political leader)
  • Manju Kapur Dalmia (author)
  • Nandita Das (actress)
  • Sheila Dikshit (Chief Minister of Delhi)
  • Urvashi Butalia (historian and feminist)
  • Mira Nair (filmmaker)
  • Ruth Vanitha (author)
Fee Structure The total fee for the various courses has been listed below: 

  • BA (Hons): INR 8,050 – INR 9,380
  • BA Program: INR 7,950
  • B.Sc: INR 12,600
  • B.Sc (Hons): INR 9,690 – INR 12, 500
  • B. El. Ed: INR 12,900
  • MA: INR 10,030 – INR 14,530
  • M.Sc: INR 10,030 – INR 11,630
Scholarships and Awards The following awards and scholarships are given to recognize excellence in students of the college:

  • Golden Jubilee Award
  • Meera Singla Memorial Scholarship
  • Neeta Bhattacharya Memorial Prize
  • Financial aid in memory of A.C. Janki Amma
  • Rajeshwari Razdan Memorial Prize
  • Santosh Bhutani Memorial Scholarships
  • Agnes Scott Prize
  • Bhagyawati Rustagi Scholarship
  • G. Pershad Memorial Prize
  • Lakshmi Krishanswami Prizes
  • Gayatri Dasgupta Memorial Prize
  • Smt. Prem Gulati Memorial Prizes
  • Gauri Radhakrishnan Prize
  • Sanyukta & D.N. Chaudhari Endowment
  • Smt. Malaan Devi Bhalla Prize
  • Urvashi Memorial Scholarship
  • Kasturi Memorial Prize
  • Usha Thiagarajan Memorial Prize
  • Seema Bhasin Medal
Eligibility Criteria The candidates who are applying for the undergraduate courses have to pass their higher secondary examinations from a recognized board.
Established in the Year The college was established in the year 1948.
Website There are two sites:

  • http://www.mirandahouse.ac.in/MirandaHouse/
  • http://mh.du.ac.in/
Facilities The facilities offered by the college are listed below:

  • Library
  • Instrumentation labs
  • Project labs
  • Workshop facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Amba Dalmia Centre
  • Computer-based labs
  • Seminar hall
  • Science labs
  • Science museum
  • Lecture hall
  • Multimedia labs
  • Digital resource center
  • Hostel
Events The following events are regularly held in the college:

  • Annual Festival (Tempest)
  • The National Symposium on Science of Life
  • Dialectics
  • Founder’s Day celebrations
  • Life science workshop
  • Memorial talks
  • Games and Sports
  • Manzar (series of seminar debates)
  • Drisya (theatre fest)
  • NSS
  • NCC
  • South Asian Students’ Economic Meet