Anna University

Anna University has a partnership with UNESCO International Center for Engineering Education (UICEE) and is a member of the Association of Indian Universities, and the Association of Commonwealth Universities. This institution was converted into an affiliating university in the year 2001.


Name of the Institution Anna University
Type of Institution Public
Location Chennai
Ownership Government
Accreditation/ affiliation The Anna University was accredited by the UGC (University Grants Commission) in the year 2002 with a 5 star status.
Courses Offered Undergraduate (B.E and B.Tech) and Postgraduate courses (MBA, MCA, M.E/M.Tech and PhD)
Departments/ Branches
  • Technology
  • Architecture and Planning
  • Information and Communication Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Science and Humanities
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Management Sciences
  • Geology
  • Media Sciences
  • Ocean Management
  • Printing Technology
  • Environmental Studies
  • Biotechnology
  • Textile Technology
Admission Procedure B.E candidates are granted admission on the basis of their scores in the qualifying examinations (10+2 or Diploma examination) and their total work experience. The application forms can be downloaded online from the official website of the university usually in the month of November and have to be submitted within December. For MBA and MCA candidates, the admissions will be based on an entrance test.
Fee Structure For full time PhD course:Admission Fee – INR 500 (one time)Caution Deposit – INR 9000 (refundable)

Tuition Fee – INR 1000 (per semester)

Enrollment Fee – INR 200 (per semester)

Library Fee – INR 200 (per semester)

Research Coordination Charges – INR 4850 (per semester)

Examinations & Results The examinations are held semester wise
Eligibility Criteria For MBA:The applicants should have a Bachelors degree from a recognized university.For MCA:

The applicants need to be graduate from the science stream with Mathematics or Computer Science.


The candidate has to be either a BE or a B.Tech, to opt for ME and M.Tech respectively.


The candidate needs to pass the Diploma examination in Engineering/Technology which is conducted by the Tamil Nadu State Board of Technical education.

Established in the Year 1978
Facts & Figures Previously known as Perarignar Anna University of Technology, the name was changed to Anna University in the year 1982.
Events NCC/NSS/NSO/SAP, Youth Red Cross, Kurukshetra – CEG Tech Forum, Dhrishyaa ACT Tech Forum, conferences
Distance Learning MBA in:

  • Financial Services Management
  • Human Resources Management
  • Retail Management
  • Technology Management
  • Health Services Management
  • General Management

MCA and MSc.