Universities in Orissa

Education System in Orissa

Orissa is a state situated on the east coast of India and has a fairly well developed education system. On April 1, 1936, it was recognized as a separate state of India. In terms of geographical size, Orissa is the 9th largest and by population it is he eleventh largest Indian state. There are several recognized universities and deemed universities in Orissa that cater to students who wish to pursue their higher studies. The education system in Orissa has been constantly improving through the efforts made by the state government. In addition to conventional courses some Universities in Orissa also provide professional programs for students.

Courses offered at Universities in Orissa

Students from every discipline can apply for admissions to the higher education degree courses offered by the universities in Orissa. A few universities like the Berhampur University also offer Correspondence and Distance Learning Courses besides the regular courses. Some of the Post graduate programs offered at various Orissa universities include P. G. Diploma – Biodiversity and Bioresource Management, P. G. Diploma – Mushroom Technology and P. G. Diploma – Rural Biotechnology. Students wishing to get into the field of media can opt for a M.A in Mass Communication.

Types of Universities in Orissa

There are different types of universities in Orissa that offers specialization in specific disciplines such as information technology, management, agricultural science and more. Biju Patnaik University of Technology, Kalinga Insitute of Industrial Technology and Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology are some of the recognized universities offering advanced learning in specific subjects.

National Institute of Technology, Rourkela is a leading deemed university that offers technical education in India. Other general universities in Orissa include Sambalpur University, Shri Jagannath Sanskrit Vishvavidyalaya and Utkal University.

Name/Address Phone / FAX
Berhampur University Bhanja Bihar, Berhampur Ganjam Orissa Pin Code: 760007 Phone: 0680-200615, 282172, 200616, 203404  Fax: 0680-282227, 202322
Fakir Mohan University Vyasa Vihar, Balasore, Orissa Pin Code: 756001 Phone: 06782 – 67881  Fax: 06782-67881
North Orissa University Sri Ram Chandra Vihar, Takatpur Baripada, Mayurbhanj, Orissa Pin Code:757003 Phone: 06792 – 55127
Sambalpur University Jyoti Vihar, Sambalpur, Orissa Pin Code: 768019 Phone: 0663 – 430157 Fax: 0663 – 430158
Utkal University Vani Vihar, Bhubaneshwar, Puri Pin Code: 751004 Phone: 0 674 – 580729, 580735, 580736, 581387  Fax: 0674 – 581850
Orissa University of Agricultre and Techonolgy, Bhubaneswar- 751003, Orissa, India EPABX : 23902818 / 2392919,  Fax : 91-674-2397780  Email :o uatmain@hotmail.com
Sri Jagannath Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Puri, Orissa – 752001 Ph : 91-6752-22663 / 22669  Email :sjsv@ori.nic.in,  Web : www.sjsv.nic.in