National Institute of Technology, Karnataka

National Institute of Technology, Karnataka, (NITK), is a Deemed University. It was set up in 1960 as Karnataka Regional Engineering College (KREC). It was established as a joint venture of the Karnataka and the Central Governments. It had only three undergraduate courses of Mechanical, Electrical and Civil Engineering when it started. Slowly, the other departments began to be incorporated, and finally in 2002 KREC was renamed as National Institute of Technology. The vision of NITK is to assimilate and disseminate knowledge for the betterment of human society and to transform its students into competent professionals.

Dr. Sandeep Sancheti is the present Director of NITK. The institute is composed of 14 departments and 11 supporting centers. It has about 200 faculty members and about 2,500 students.

Departments at NIT K

      1. Physics
      2. Chemistry
      3. Humanities
      4. Civil Engineering
      5. Mining Engineering
      6. Applied Mechanics and Hydraulics
      7. Mechanical Engineering
      8. metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science
      9. Computer Science
      10. Electronics and Communications Engineering
      11. Electrical and Electronics Engineering
      12. Mathematics and Computational Sciences
      13. Chemical Engineering
    14. Information Technology
  • Civil Engineering
    • B.E (Civil)
    • M.Tech (Industrial Structures)
    • M.Tech (Geo technical Engineering)
    • M.Tech (Transportation Systems Engineering- proposed)
    • M.Tech ( Environmental Engineering – proposed)
  • Mechanical Engineering
    • B.E (Mechanical Engineering)
    • M.E (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Electrical and Electronics engineering
  • Mining Engineering
    • B.Tech (Mining Engg.)
    • (Mining Engg.)
    • PhD (Mining Engg.)
  • metallurgical and Materials Engineering
    • B.Tech
    • M.Tech
  • Chemical engineering
    • B.Tech
    • M.Tech
  • Information Technology
    • B.Tech
    • M.Tech
  • Computer Engineering
    • B.Tech & M.Tech in Electronics and Communication engineering
    • BTech in Electronics and Communication Engineering
    • MTech in Digital Electronics and Advanced Communication (DE)

Eligibility: B.E./B.Tech/B.Sc (Engg) in Electronics & Communication, Electronics & Telecommunication, Grade IETE, AMIE

MTech in Microelectronics (MI)

Eligibility: B.E./B.Tech/B.Sc (Engg) in Electrical & Electronics, Electrical Engineering, Electronics, Electronics & Communication, Electronics & Instrumentation, Electronics & Telecommunication, Electronics & Control Engineering, Instrumentation, Instrumentation Engineering, Instrumentation Technology, Grade IETE, AMIE Research Program

Eligibility: MTech with specialization in Communication, Microelectronics, Signal Processing

Mathematical and Computational Sciences:

Applied Mechanics and Hydraulics:

Admission Procedures: Admissions to the undergraduate courses are based on the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE). 50% of the seats are reserved for students from Karnataka. Admissions to the M.Tech courses are done on the basis of Graduation Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).


Opportunities: About 80% of the NITK graduates have been successfully placed in leading companies all over the world. According to a recent survey done by the India Today group, NITK is the 8th best institute for engineering inside the country.


National Institute of Technology

Mangalore – 575025, Karnataka

Disclaimer : On this page, we have tried to provide all the information on North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology(NERIST). We have tried our best to provide accurate and updated details about the North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology(NERIST). However, if you encounter any discrepancy,do write to us. We welcome any kind of feedback that would improve the quality of the site,a site that strives to provide the best information on North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology(NERIST)