Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur

The Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, located in Nagpur was conferred the Deemed University status in the year 2002, making it one amongst the 30 Institutes of Technology in India. It was established as a regional engineering college in the year 1960 and was named after the famous engineer and statesman Sir M. Visvesvaraya.

The beautiful campus is spread across 215.26 acres and includes separate hostels for girls and boys, auditorium, seminar halls, sports and recreation areas, staff housing, a guest house for visitors, clubs, library and lecture rooms. Apart from providing quality [engineering] education to students, the institute facilitates their placement. Around 80 prominent organizations visit the campus to recruit, each year.

Name of the Institution Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology
Type of the Institution Deemed University
Location Nagpur
Ownership Government
Accreditation/ affiliation AICTE approved (grade A)
Courses Offered Undergraduate, Postgraduate
Admission Procedure Entrance tests
Departments/ Branches Engineering (Electrical, Civil, Mechanical, Applied Mechanics, Electronics & Computer Science, Architecture, Metallurgical, Mining), Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Humanities
Established in the Year 1960
Facts and Figures It was one of the first six regional engineering colleges in India when it was established
Fee Structure Rs. 4k to Rs. 57k
Syllabi/ Curriculum Semester system
Distance Learning, Online Education Courses in collaboration with Kanwal Rekhi School of Information Technology and Indian Institute of Technology Bombay for teachers, working professionals and undergraduate and postgraduate senior students
Eligibility Criteria For undergraduate courses – scores of All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE); For postgraduate courses – scores of Graduate Aptitude Test for Engineering (GATE) or entrance test taken by individual departments

Engineering Colleges by State -

Andhra Pradesh Bihar Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu & Kashmir Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Orissa Jharkhand
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Uttar Pradesh West Bengal